Out on my own.

I’ve had a pretty good blogging career, one which has spanned 7 years and four separate blogs. My first blog was done anonymously, and I moved to Biofortified after gaining an audience from that blog which I will not name. I also occasionally write stuff for Entomology Today. I’ve built up an audience at Biofortified, but I’ve decided to create this website and blog in order to use it as a professional resource. I’ll still be cross-posting material to both websites.

The stuff I wrote for Biofortified was largely based around agriculture, but I’d like to get back to my insect physiology roots. I’ll still discuss agriculture and biotechnology, but I’m trying to broaden my horizons to other topics. I don’t really care about being the first to present research. Instead, I’m going to focus on scientific discoveries I find fascinating. My blogging is largely a way for me to keep up on scientific literature. Everything will be current, but I’m not a journalist…so I won’t be the first to break anything.

I’m not sure how often I’ll update, but I’d like to update once or twice a week. I tried to keep up a social media schedule while I was job-hunting, but I eventually had to focus on my cover letters to ensure my writing didn’t suffer. The change in focus paid off, and I’m now gainfully employed in a job I love. I’ll be able to focus on my science writing, and I’m excited to be back on the blogosphere.

Leave a Reply

